VRTP Info for RiderCoach / Instructor Applicants -
Instructor Courses - DMV organizes instructor courses in Virginia for people who are interested in becoming certified as a Motorcycle Safety Foundation RiderCoach (2 Wheel) and Evergreen Safety Council (3 Wheel) Instructors.
What qualifications do I need to enroll?
1. Have a current valid driver's license, endorsed for motorcycle operation, that is neither suspended, revoked, canceled, nor under probation; with less than six demerit points in a 12 month period and no convictions for any of the offenses stated in subsection E of 18.2-270 Virginia code. A copy of your driving record will be requested when you enroll.
2. You will be asked to attend a 15-20 hour classroom and range session prior to commencing the program, and prior to this, you may be requested to shadow 15 hours or more with one or more assigned RiderCoaches/Instructors to understand the mechanics of the program better.
Some additional Rules of Professional Conduct:
Attend and complete all required programs, clinics and professional Development Workshops required by the Department of Motor Vehicles Motorcycle Program and all other State laws, policies and procedures.
Conduct yourself in a professional manner, including, but not limited to, using appropriate language when interacting with participants and others involved in the course and be certain these are free from threat and intimidation.
Comply with other requirements specified by Virginia code 46.2-1190.3 or otherwise established by the Department of Motor Vehicles (the Department). You must be a licensed motorcyclist who currently rides on a frequent, routine basis. As a teacher, you need good communication skills.
As a RiderCoach/Instructor, you'll be called upon to give your time to help teach RiderCourse's. Although you will be paid, you won't become rich in this field. A sincere desire to help reduce motorcycle accidents, injuries, and deaths are the prime motivator of RiderCourse RiderCoaches.
What does the course cover and what are the completion requirements?
Attendance: The course is approximately 70+ hours long. Course schedules may vary; you should plan on ten days of intense training. Your first two days of class will be attending a Basic Rider Course as a student. To continue to the next phase as an Instructor Candidate, you MUST pass the Basic Rider Course Knowledge & Skills tests with scores set to a higher standard than those of the general public attending the same Basic Rider Course to obtain their license. Failure to obtain a passing score will not allow you to continue on the next phase as an Instructor Candidate. If you desire to reapply, you will be requested to begin the application process again from its entirety. You MUST attend and successfully complete every class and all sessions in their entirety within the original session you registered.
You will use our Program motorcycles; NO private motorcycles will be allowed.
Peer teaching: During the 9-10 day course, you'll learn how to teach the curriculum. You'll practice teaching in the classroom and the driving range with your peers. You'll learn how to manage the range exercises and how to evaluate and coach students as they develop their riding skills.
Knowledge tests: During the training portion of the course, you'll be given two separate knowledge tests - one test is the same test used in the Licensing Program; however, the standards are higher for RiderCoach/Instructor candidates. The second test will cover information covered in your instructor class and your instructor materials. You must pass each test to continue in the program.
Qualitative Assessment: There are many competencies required to be a competent RiderCoach/Instructor. Besides the usual expectations of adhering to the Rules of Professional Conduct, a critical core competency required is to be able to appropriately apply judgment in making decisions that facilitate learning for the RC Candidate; in other words, making sound field judgments based on the principles of safety and the curriculum. Therefore, QA Staff, Chief Instructors (Trainers) and other personnel conducting the curriculum have the responsibility to assess your capabilities based on their judgment and experience. It is your responsibility to demonstrate to them that you understand the program principles in a way that leads you to make effective decisions relative to the Program.
Student teaching: The course culminates when you teach a complete Class to a group of new riders (Student Teaching). Trainers will evaluate your performance. Successfully completing student teaching is your final requirement to qualify for VRTP RiderCoach certification.
As a RiderCoach/Instructor candidate, you'll use the RiderCoach/Instructor Guide for the curriculum. You'll also receive many course materials, reports, and instructional handouts to start your reference library.
What is the course schedule?
The course schedule may vary.
Ten consecutive days. Typically, we begin on a Friday evening at 6:00 pm and train for ten consecutive days, ending on a Sunday at 7:00 pm.
Please inquire with the Quality Assurance Department for current Program dates.
What does the course cost?
In-State Tuition is $250 - covers class fees and books.
Out of State residents - tuition is $1500
In-State is defined as possessing a valid Virginia operators license for no less than one year (365 days) and residing in Virginia for no less than one year (365 days) entitles you to the in-state tuition fee of $250. Copy of Virginia operators license and proof of residence (vehicle, real estate, property tax receipts, etc.) will be required upon application.
We accept Credit cards, Debit cards, Money orders, and cash. Full payment will be requested for each application. Tuition is non-refundable.
Classes may be rescheduled due to weather, low registration, etc.
The Virginia Rider Training Program and The Motorcycle Safety League of Virginia, Inc. admit students of any gender, race, color, national origin.
So, what are you waiting for?